No One Is Going To Steal Your Idea

Danielle Newnham
7 min readOct 22, 2021

Ten years ago at our mobile apps studio, prospective clients were forever trying to get us to sign their NDAs. It was one of the most pointless exercises that got repeated, ad infinitum. So when founders ask me about it now, I always say:

No one is going to steal your idea. So don’t be afraid to share it.

It wasn’t until I interviewed Adam Cheyer, co-founder and creator of Siri, that I realised there are countless more positives in sharing your startup idea, than not.

“Starting in high school or college, I have lived my life according to what I call Verbally Stated Goals (VSG). At each major juncture, I focus on the most core emotion at that time; I crystallize it into words forming a mission statement; and then I tell everyone I meet that this is what I am doing. Telling people my Verbally Stated Goal does two things: first, by declaring it in front of many people, this commits me to achieving the goal; second, when people know what I’m trying to do, they find ways to help me.” Adam Cheyer

The idea that in sharing, we can attract people to help make it a reality is powerful.

--

--

Danielle Newnham

Host of Danielle Newnham Podcast — interviews with tech founders and innovators. Writer. Author. Recovering Founder.